

Board Communique: May 2023

The Energy Consumers Australia Board met in Sydney on 18 May 2023

With thanks to Lynne Gallagher

This May Board meeting is significant as it is the last meeting for our Chief Executive Officer Lynne Gallagher before she finishes up with Energy Consumers Australia. The Board would like to extend heartfelt thanks to Lynne for her leadership of the organisation over the past three years, in addition to her five years as Director of Research.

During this time Lynne has led the development of a new impact-based three-year strategic plan and driven an evolution of the organisation's policy, communications, and strategic engagement functions. She has also steered the organisation through the choppy waters of the pandemic, providing considerable input to the crisis policy response required in the energy sector over this time, while managing the many challenges that all organisations confronted with COVID-19.

Lynne has made a permanent imprint on Energy Consumers Australia and a long-lasting impact on the way decision makers think about energy consumers and their place in the market. We wish Lynne all the best for her new role as a Board Member with the Australian Energy Regulator where we are certain she will continue to play a significant role in the energy sector.

The Board is confident that ECA remains in good hands with Jacqueline Crawshaw, the current Director of Energy Services and Markets, stepping up to become Interim CEO. An open recruitment process will shortly commence to appoint the organisation's third CEO. The Board will communicate more information about this process in due course.

Governance and Operational Matters

The 18 May 2023 Board Governance Meeting focused on several governance and operational matters.

The Board discussed the proposed upcoming workplan for ECA for 2023-24. This will be the first ever published workplan and follows the release of ECA's 3-year strategic plan in 2021. ECA's priorities will be structured in the form of five new organisational goals against which our progress will be measured.

The Board approved the appointment of the 2023-25 Board Reference Committee. The Reference Committee play a vital role in providing the Board with advice on current and emerging consumer energy issues across the national energy market. The Board is pleased with the diversity of the new committee representing a diverse range of Australian household and small business interests across the country.

The Board is pleased to announce that the following people will join the committee:

- Jonathan Kneebone, First Nations Clean Energy Network
- Andrew Nance, The Energy Project
- Caitlin Perry, Northern Territory Council of Social Service
- Asha Ramzan, Sydney Community Forum
- Ciara Sterling, Thriving Communities Partnerships
- Damian Sullivan, Brotherhood of St Laurence

The following members have also been re-nominated for an additional term:

- Geoff Buchanan, Australian National University
- Neil Horrocks, University of Queensland
- Simon Moore, Business NSW
- Dr Phillipa Watson, Australian National University

The Board would also like to thank the outgoing Committee members, Dr Fiona Simon, Dr Georgina Davis, Gabrielle Sycamore, James Colbert, Justine Jarvinen and Ross Womersley for their service and hard work over the past two years. The Board has appreciated their valuable knowledge and experience in our continuing work for the long-term interests of energy consumers.